Simplify Wine with PlayOnLinux

I’m usually quite happy with Linux software, so I don’t use Wine all that much. Normally, I only use Wine to test some web pages in IE. But now and then I have the need to edit some word file that Open Office can’t handle. For that reason I recently installed Microsoft Office on my Ubuntu at work with the help of PlayOnLinux. PlayOnLinux is a program to simplify the installation of several windows applications under wine. The result is very good and I now have microsoft office running flawlessly on Linux.
PlayOnLinux is a very interesting project. It’s essentially a framework for creating scripts that install windows applications. There’s already a good amount of scripts available, most of them for games (that was the original motivation for the project). However, don’t think you have to manually run those scripts. There’s a simple interface that lets you choose which application to install and follow a brief wizard.
If you plan on using any windows application under wine, consider PlayOnLinux that really simplifies all installation issues. Good work.

One response to “Simplify Wine with PlayOnLinux”

  1. geeks says :

    Quite inspiring,

    Some great advice,

    This is really helpful in simplifying wine,

    Keep up the good work,

    Thanks

