Radio Tray 0.3 released

Yesterday I released a new version of Radio Tray. Slowly, it’s getting to the point I want Radio Tray to be. In this version I wanted it to support most of the playlist formats used by online radios. This includes M3U, popularised by winamp, and the ASX, WAX and WVX formats (used by windows media player). Keep in mind that, although Radio Tray can interpret those playlist formats, the GStreamer libraries, on which it is built, may not support the media stream itself. If it gives an error about missing codecs, it’s probably a missing gstreamer plugin.

I’m happy that by version 0.3, Radio Tray now supports every format that I intended to implement. However, I plan to improve playlist handling a bit. The current implementation is a little naive and it needs some work to become more stable. I’ll be working on that for next version. I also plan to add some gui improvements for v0.4.

I’m also quite happy to see the acceptance of Radio Tray. It has received some very nice reviews, and being such a new and small project this really means a lot. I’ll continue to develop and improve Radio Tray, always by the principle that I like so much in Linux: do just one thing and do it well. So, let’s hope it keeps working well πŸ™‚

 

Have fun!

16 responses to “Radio Tray 0.3 released”

  1. Tomas Forsman says :

    Cant wait for next release πŸ™‚
    Keep up the great work

  2. Aerowolf says :

    Hello,Thanks for your software-Radio Tray.But I found I cann’t use Chinese as ‘Radio name’.

  3. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Tomas Thanks!

    @Aerowolf Hmmm, I never tried that. Thanks for remembering, I’ll see what I can do to make radio tray accept all kind of characters.

  4. Bit Hacker says :

    FanfuckinTastic. I’m in love with this app. I know you want it simple but what about pause button, or mute in case someone wanna see a viral video on facebook. You rock man….. πŸ˜€

  5. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Bit Hacker
    I didn’t think of a pause button because you can’t really pause, the music still goes on. Doing “turn off” and “start” does almost the same thing. I understand there’s a difference: the time for the connection to be established again.
    I have to think about it and also check if the GStreamer libraries allow me to do it with little trouble.
    Thank you for your suggestion, it’s great to have this kind of feedback.

  6. beow says :

    Love this app! The only thing I’m missing is a volume control, since now I have to use the master volume control that affects all audio apps.

    Other than that I think you should stick with this minimalistic approach, it is in that that it really stands out! Choose radio station, on/off and volume defines the necessary and sufficient requirements for this app as I see it.

  7. Emil says :

    Great application! I would like to see a sort-stations-feature for the next release. πŸ˜‰

  8. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @beow Thanks for your suggestion. However, I have to ask: how do you imagine the interface for the volume control ?

    @Emil Thanks, and stay tuned.

  9. Walt says :

    Please keep the interface the way it is. It is simple and to the point. I just want to play a internet radio station. PERFECT APPLICATION.

  10. Bit Hacker says :

    Ur Welcome. Since you like feedback, here is some more. Backing up / Saving the list of my current stations, though I did back’em up with bookmarks.xml in the user directory. Sorting is a good idea, just have to add the Up and Down buttons in the config dialog. http://yfrog.com/5omenu004p

  11. Bit Hacker says :

    FanPage of RadioTray on facebook πŸ™‚ http://www.facebook.com/pages/Radio-Tray

  12. Matthew Craig says :

    Hello Carlos – interesting application.
    Would you please consider adding a playlist containing streams playable with freely distributable audio codecs? These can be found at http://wiki.xiph.org/VorbisStreams , and there is an XML version of this list at http://matthewcraig.com/streambrowser_save.xml that I made for Amarok.

  13. Matthew Craig says :

    Hello Carlos – interesting application.
    Would you please consider adding a playlist containing streams playable with freely distributable audio codecs? These can be found at http://wiki.xiph.org/VorbisStreams , and there is an XML version of this list at http://matthewcraig.com/streambrowser_save.xml that I made for Amarok.

  14. beow says :

    I see your point about the volume control UI. Perhaps menu items “Volume Up”, “Volume Down” relative the current offset to the Master control? Or with a right click having a Volume option that presents a slider?

  15. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Matthew Sorry, the comment got stuck for moderation for some strange reason. I want to add preset list for next version. Thank you for that resource. I’ll look into it.

