Version 0.4 of Radio Tray

I haven’t had the time to blog, but here it is. Last Tuesday I released Radio Tray 0.4 with some new cool features!
First thing was adding sorting operations to the configuration dialog, something that several people was asking for. The configuration dialog now has 2 more buttons, one for moving up and another for moving down. Simple enough.
Playlist handling was also improved and a few bugs fixed.
And finally, something that I was interested in developing from the beggining, was enhancing the tooltip by showing the song name and artist. I think it looks good and it’s a nice extra for Radio Tray.

 

This information about the song and artist comes from metadata in the stream. But unfortunately not all radios implement it well. Some don’t publish any metada, others just keep pushing the station name, instead of the song title. Others even show ads in that metadata. So, the effectiveness of this feature really depends on the radio station. Shoutcast radios are examples of well implemented radios. It’s a pity not everyone does the same.
So, this is it for version 0.4. Now it’s time to think about the future and the features for the next release. I have a list of things that would be nice to have (including some suggested by users), but I have to concentrate on one thing at a time. And I think it’s time to add translation support (i18n). I just need to investigate a little and see how other projects are dealing with this. Next on the list is supporting more playlist formats, but it may have to wait one version more.

Have fun with version 0.4. And thank  your comments and suggestions.

27 responses to “Version 0.4 of Radio Tray”

  1. Roman77 says :

    Hello, i like to use this app, but i have an error when i tray to use same radio. The error say: “a la instalacion de GSTreamer le falta un complemento”. can you help me?

    Thanks

  2. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Roman77 GStreamer is a dependency of Radio Tray. Which Linux distribution (and versionn) do you have ?

  3. Vilmantas says :

    Program can’t play: http://84.32.194.146/zipfm.aac.m3u

    And it would be nice to import stations from file, or save them to file.

    Great program!i love it

  4. Bit Hacker says :

    @Vilmantas, you can manually save the stations file located at /home/USERNAME/.radiotray/bookmarks.xml as the bookmarks.xml. Just copy it to a safe location and later paste it again at the specified location.
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Radio-Tray/336418601437

  5. Panana says :

    I don’t know if it isn’t supported yet, but “mms://” doesn’t work.
    Is there any plan to add that feature?

  6. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Vilmantas I tried the radio you said and it worked, although badly, it kept buffering and buffering. But I had the same issue with other players. It didn’t give me any errors, it just seems slow.

  7. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Bit Hacker thanks for the help and for the facebook page 😉

  8. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Panana Can you give me an example radio so that I can test ? “mms” should work fine, I have a few of them on my list.

  9. Panana says :

    Here:
    mms://reflector.marca.com:9050
    mms://ondacerolivewm.fplive.net/ondacerowmlive-live/oc_sevilla

    Also, I wanted to say thank you. The best application for managing radio streams ever.

  10. Bit Hacker says :

    The new tooltip is a great addition, since we can get this, I have a new idea. I think you already know about CoverGloobus. Can we make it to show stuff from Radio-Tray? Here is a file that I used to get stuff from Exaile player for CoverGloobus. http://www.upload.ee/files/110766/Exaile.py.tar.gz.html This would be really awesome if we can get Album Cover and other things using CoverGloobus. Radio-Tray would remain simple as it is now.

  11. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Panana The first one gives an error, I’ll have to look into it further. As for the second, it seems only extremely slow. If you wait a few minutes it will start playing. It’s kinda bad, but it doesn’t give any error and I tested it with other players and had the same problem.

  12. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Bit Hacker Hmmm, that would be great indeed. I need to look into it. It will take some time though as I first need to implement a DBus interface (which I already wanted to implement for other reasons).
    Thanks for your suggestions

  13. Panana says :

    Ok, I’ll try. However, I think you could add a connection state indicator (with a buffer or something) to know if the radio is loading or what.
    But I like the simplicity you get so, you could add it in the menu with the list of stations for example. It’s just advice or an idea.

  14. vectrex says :

    Thank you soooo much for this peace of software!! There is just one Question: Where can i find the TrayIcon icon to change the look of that ? Because i have all black and white und this blue hurts my eyes 🙂

  15. vectrex says :

    ha ha peace!!!! this shoult be “piece !!!” ha ha

  16. Christian Louboutin 2010 says :

    Ok, I’ll try. However, I think you could add a connection state indicator (with a buffer or something) to know if the radio is loading or what.
    But I like the simplicity you get so, you could add it in the menu with the list of stations for example. It’s just advice or an idea.

  17. SB says :

    Every time I try to play a station (any station) I get “Radio Error: There is no codec present….”. I run Ubuntu 9.10. What codecs do I need? I can’t find ANY google help w/ this (after 1.5hrs).

  18. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @SB You need to have GStreamer installed with all its plugins (gstreamer0.10-plugins-*). Hope that helps.

  19. SB says :

    Thanks Carlos, but I checked, and it looks like I have all the necessary gstreamer plugins installed (base,nice,good,bad,ugly,alsa,etc.), but it still gives the same “Radio Error” msg. Is there a particular gstreamer (or other) plugin/codec for Radio Tray?

  20. SB says :

    Carlos, I think I figured out a solution, after reading comment #10 @ http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=814763. I then went to the Shoutcast listings in VLC, and found the http “location” of a station (highlight station>rt-click>information), copied that, and pasted into Radio Tray url box for that station, and IT WORKED! I’ve noticed that some have http numbers (http://66.225.205.191:80) instead of words (http://www.kpbs.org/radio/live/). I’ve tried the “google search” suggested firefox goto > tools > page info > media> look at embed address, but that didn’t work for my example (KPBS.org), I had to use the url number info I could only find in Shoutcast. My question now is: how do I find this “correct” url info of stations I find online?

  21. SB says :

    Carlos, I think I figured out a solution, after reading comment #10 @ http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=814763. I then went to the Shoutcast listings in VLC, and found the http “location” of a station (highlight station>rt-click>information), copied that, and pasted into Radio Tray url box for that station, and IT WORKED! I’ve noticed that some have http numbers (http://66.225.205.191:80) instead of words (http://www.kpbs.org/radio/live/). I’ve tried the “google search” suggested firefox goto > tools > page info > media> look at embed address, but that didn’t work for my example (KPBS.org), I had to use the url number info I could only find in Shoutcast. My question now is: how do I find this “correct” url info of stations I find online?

  22. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @SB Hmm, yes that’s a playlist issue. I’ve solved many playlist issues in the development version. However this one is new. And it’s a nice intricated one. The problem is that in that particular case, the playlist doesn’t point to the stream. Instead it points to a webpage that contains a link to the stream. That webpage is generated by a Shoutcast Server. VLC knows that the webpage is from the soutcast server and just adds “listen.pls” to the end of the URL. That solves it. I presume it might be a common problem and because of that VLC implemented that. I’m taking note of that, to try to fix it in future versions

  23. SB says :

    Thanks Carlos! I’m looking fwd to future versions. So, in the meantime, should we ad /listen.pls to the end of url’s?

  24. BooneCheri says :

    Houses and cars are not very cheap and not everybody can buy it. But, loan are created to support different people in such cases.

  25. Lee Seymour says :

    “…the playlist doesn’t point to the stream. Instead it points to a webpage that contains a link to the stream.”

    Use MPlayer. Movie Player seems to only like .asx & .m3u streams, but once opened there, you can copy & paste location (right click context menu)into Radio Tray. Neat!

