Radio Tray 0.5.1 is finally out

After a lot of work, from me and from Og Maciel that has been contributing a lot to Radio Tray, this version is full of small fixes and huge amounts of code restructuring. And thanks to everyone that took the time to translate Radio Tray, we now have support for 15 languages !! Unfortunately, we had to change some of the text that was being translated, which resulted in more work for the translators. But in the end just a few languages remained incomplete. Again, thank you for your participation.

Besides the language files, there has been a lot of improvements in different parts of the code. Too many to list them. A few bugs were fixed also, but not every bug was closed. Some were left for the next version πŸ™‚

Meanwhile, like I said, there was a transition from Subversion repository to Mercurial. I’m quite happy with the transition, and enjoying working with Mercurial. Just to be clear: I didn’t change from Subversion because of any specific issue. It was proposed to me to use Mercurial and I accepted, because I also had the curiosity of using this kind of distributed version control systems.

 New Features

Despite the focus was on restructuring some code and improving a few issues, there’s also some new things in Radio Tray. One of them is a different icon depending on application state. If Radio Tray is not playing any radio, the icon is now gray. When it’s playing, the normal blue one is displayed. I was also working on an animated icon for the "connecting" state, but I couldn’t get it work well, so it got postponed for the next version.

 Many people also asked to display the song that was playing, on the notification system. At first I wasn’t planning to add this feature, due to the bad behaviour of some radios. But let’s hope most of you choose radios that don’t have this issue πŸ™‚ I plan to add some way of disabling this on the next version, anyway.

 There’s now a list of radios by default on a fresh installation. If you already used Radio Tray, your old bookmarks will remain the same. Note that the bookmarks file (bookmarks.xml) is now located on "~/.local/share/radiotray" instead of "~/.radiotray". This is to make Radio Tray more compliant with current linux standards. If all goes well, your old bookmarks file will be moved to the new location. However, it’s always good to first make a backup πŸ˜‰

 I hope I haven’t forgot any new feature πŸ™‚ It’s not much, but it was more than I was planning for this version. Anyhow I think this kind of enhancements really improve the user experience, so I hope you like it.

Next Version

 I have several ideas for the next version. I already told you that I was planning to add D-Bus interface. For the end-user this will probably mean an easier way to add radios, but this is a story for another post. I also want to add XSPF support and study more formats that could be added. There’s also a list some bugs to be addressed. I’ve collected far more ideas (some fo them from comments on this blog) and maybe some more can be implemented in the next version.

 

Final notes

 I’ve always distributed two files: a tarball and a debian package. But this debian package is in fact not meant for the Debian distribution but for Ubuntu. It would be great if it worked on Debian also, but I haven’t tested it. Can please someone test it on Debian ? If it doesn’t work it would also be great if someone could maintain the Debian version of the package.

Hope you like this version as much as I liked developing it πŸ˜‰

Happy listening!

24 responses to “Radio Tray 0.5.1 is finally out”

  1. Vilmantas says :

    I think i translated everything, but there is no some translations in program

    i can’t post url to pictures to show πŸ™‚

  2. Vilmantas says :

    My playlist is about 50 stations, so when i turn on radio stations fast – one station, another and so on, program only show notifications (with big delay) and not playing.

  3. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Vilmantas Is it just a few “strings” that didn’t get translated, or all of them ? If it’s just a few, can you show me an example (the english text) ?

    About the notification system, the delays are “normal”. I only tell the underlying notification system to notify some text. The delay is imposed and unfortunately I can’t take the message back again if I don’t want to show it anymore. But I’ll have a look, maybe there’s something more to it.

    Thanks for testing out Radio Tray so fast πŸ˜‰

  4. Vilmantas says :

    There are examples;

    h t t p://dl.dropbox.com/u/5751206/Configure%20Radios_001.png

  5. Vilmantas says :

    And this one (that is all):

    h t t p://dl.dropbox.com/u/5751206/radiotray_002.png

  6. Peter Ward says :

    I got radiotray working on Debian this morning – it didn’t work out of the box (package?), because Debian’s default python is still 2.5, and it was packaged specifically for python 2.6.

    Also, there seems to be an unnecessary dependency on python-pyinotify, and a missing dependency on python-notify. I’ve presumed that this was a typo.

    I’ve fixed the debian packaging to work for any python version – patch is available from either:
    http://home.flowblok.id.au/hg/flowblok/radiotray/
    http://bitbucket.org/flowblok/radiotray/

  7. Og Maciel says :

    Hi Vilmantas, the issue with your strings not showing up translated is because they came in after we released 0.5.1. The strings that are translated are not from Radio Tray, but from gtk which is already translated into your language. Rest assured, however, that your translations will be available in the next release. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for contributing!

  8. Stani says :

    Great application! It replaces now audacious for me. Would it be possible to toggle play/pause with the mouse middle click?

  9. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Stani Thanks for the suggestion. That will be probably be added in next version.

  10. Hairybiker says :

    Could the notifications be switch-able? I find them distracting πŸ˜‰
    But I have switched to using RTP from Audacious as well. Now if only you could handle global hot keys then it would be perfect

  11. Tom says :

    Hi! Great job – I exactly needed an unobtrusing app πŸ™‚ I have one problem only – I do not know how to add radios? For example, I tried to add salsa.fm from sky.fm, but the url which I got in the sky play window did not work in Radio Tray…. Could you post a small how-to for dummies?
    Tom

  12. Tom says :

    ok – i googled and now my radio list grows πŸ™‚

  13. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Hairybiker I find them distracting too, but so many people were asking that I decided to let them have it πŸ™‚ I do plan to make an option on the next version to switch them off.

  14. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Tom thanks for your comments. I’m glad you could find the answer on google. I hope to have an easier way to bookmark radios on the next version though

  15. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Peter Ward. Your comment got caught on spam, for some reason. Thanks for your contribution. I already added it to repository

  16. Dick Smith says :

    I love your app. I wonder why I can’t get this station: http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/pls/KKGOFM1AAC.pls
    to play? I get a codec error with it. However I have other.pls stations that are playing fine.

    dick

  17. daniel says :

    Hey, radiotray is great but PLEASE add an option to disable the notifications on Ubuntu. My fav station pops up infos every 5 seconds or so which made radiotray terribly annoying.

  18. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Dick Smith From what I’ve seen is actually a bug πŸ™‚ A simple one though, so it will be fixed on next version

  19. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @Daniel Yes, next version will definitely have an option to disable notifications.

  20. solsTiCe says :

    Just found and tried radiotray. It’s good.
    I found the image used for the notification too big.

    Most of the time,with other apps those images are smaller.
    And with radiotray, one have a notification dialog almost empty because of the huge size of the image.

  21. solsTiCe says :

    I tried with 64×64 image and it’s better than with 128×128. my 2 cents

    p.s. what is the captcha system used here ?

  22. Carlos Ribeiro says :

    @solsTiCe Hmm, thanks for the suggestion. I’ll try the smaller one and see if it looks good.

    About the captcha system, I sincerely don’t know. It’s the default for blogsome.com and I presume it’s the wordpress default…why, did you had any problems ?

  23. solsTiCe says :

    no problem. It’s to know its name to try it on one of my site.

  24. Ruzsaz says :

    Great app!

    Please add the possibility to execute a command first when switching to a station!

    It’s primary usage for me would be to establish an ssh tunnel to the station, if the required ports are firewalled.

    (Also a script to destroy the tunnel would be nice when turning to an other channel…)

    Thanks!

